Bourbon Whiskey/American Whiskey

Bourbon whiskey is an American whiskey, made with at least 51% corn, wheat, rye, malted barley, and aged in new oak barrels. It has been produced since 18th century, and the name of this spirit is associated with the area, what is now Bourbon County, Kentucky. Bourbon can be produced anywhere in the United States, where it is legal to distill alcohol, but the majority of all bourbon comes from Kentucky and Tennessee. Whiskey that has been aged for at least two years and has no additional coloring or spirits added, can be called “straight bourbon”. A majority produced today qualify to carry a “straight bourbon” label, but not all producers choose to put that label on their products.


Go to Top